| Bertelsmann Stiftung

List of Participants

Global Policy Council

First Meeting

Berlin, June 2-3, 2006

Conference Venue: Bertelsmann House

Unter den Linden 1 D-10117 Berlin

Telephone: +49 (0)30-52 00 99-200

Fax: +49 (0)30-52 00 99-250

Accommodation: The Regent Berlin

Charlottenstrasse 49

D-10117 Berlin

Telephone: +49 (0)30-20 33 8 Fax: +49 (0)30-20 33 61 19

Conference Language: English

Current as of May 16, 2006

Shlomo Avineri Professor, Department of Political Science.

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem; former Director-General, Israeli Ministry of

Foreign Affairs

Lakhdar Brahimi Ambassador, Paris; former UN Special

Envoy (1994-2005)

Kriengsak Chareonwongsak Professor; President, Social Science

Association of Thailand

Moncef Cheikh Rouhou Professor Affiliate, Ecole des Hautes

Etudes Commerciales - HEC Group,

Jouy-en-Josas/Paris

Judy Dempsey Senior Correspondent, Europe,

International Herald Tribune, Berlin

Efraim Halevy Head, Centre for Strategic and Policy

Studies, The Hebrew University of

Jerusalem

Christoph Heusgen Director General, Foreign and Security

Policy Adviser, German Federal

Chancellery, Berlin

Andrej N. Illarionov Director, Institute of Economic Analysis,

Moscow: former Economic Policy Advisor

to the President of Russia (t.b.c.)

Josef Janning Head of the International Relations

Program, Bertelsmann Stiftung, Guetersloh

Karl Kaiser Ralph I. Strauss Visiting Professor,

Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University,

Cambridge MA

Henry A. Kissinger Former US Secretary of State (1973-1977),

New York NY

Caio Koch-Weser Vice Chairman, Deutsche Bank Group,

London; former State Secretary, German

Ministry of Finance, Berlin

Celso Lafer Chair, Countries and Cultures of the South,

The John W. Kluge Center, Library of Congress, Washington DC; former Brazilian Minister of Foreign Affairs

Ricardo Lagos Escobar President, Club of Madrid, Madrid;

Member, High Level Panel on UN System-Wide, New York NY; former President of

the Republic of Chile

Mark Leonard Director, Foreign Policy, Centre for

European Reform, London

Bernard-Henri Levy Author; Director, Les Editions Grasset,

Paris (t.b.c.)

Fyodor Lukyanov Editor-in-Chief, Russia in Global Affairs,

Moscow

Mei Zhaorong Ambassador; Professor; Chairman,

Academic Steering Committee, Centre for European Studies, Fudan University, Shanghai; former Ambassador of China to Germany: former President of the Chinese

People's Institute of Foreign Affairs

C. Raja Mohan Professor; Strategic Affairs Editor,

The Indian Express, New Delhi

Dominique Moisi Deputy Director; Special Advisor, The

French Institute of International Relations,

Paris (t.b.c.)

Harald Mueller Professor; Executive Director, Peace

Research Institute Frankfurt

Herfried Muenkler Professor, Institute for Social Sciences,

Faculty of Arts, Humboldt University, Berlin

Surendra Munshi Professor of Sociology, Indian Institute of

Management, Calcutta

Klaus Naumann General (retired), Starnberg; former

Chairman, NATO Military Committee

(1996-1999)

Carlos Pascual Ambassador; Vice President; Director,

Foreign Policy Studies, The Brookings Institution, Washington D.C.; former Coordinator for Reconstruction and Stabilization, US State Department

Solomon I. Passy Chairman, Foreign Policy Committee,

National Assembly, Republic of Bulgaria, Sofia; former Bulgarian Minister of Foreign

Affairs (t.b.c.)

William Potter Professor; Director, Center for

Nonproliferation Studies, Monterey Institute

of International Studies

Adam Daniel Rotfeld Polish Institute of International Affairs.

Warsaw; former Polish Minister of Foreign

Affairs (t.b.c.)

Abdulaziz Sager Chairman, Gulf Research Center, Dubai

Mohammed Prince Bin Faisal

bin Turki Al-Saud

Ambassador; Director, European Union

Department, Saudi-Arabic Ministry of

Foreign Affairs, Riyadh (t.b.c.)

Robert G. Skinner Former Director, Oxford Institute for Energy

Studies

Song Xinning *Professor; Director, Centre for European*

Studies, Jean Monnet Centre of

Excellence, Renmin University of China,

Beijing

Emmanuel Todd Research Engineer, National Institute of

Demographic Studies, Paris (t.b.c.)

Klaus Toepfer Former UN Under-Secretary-General;

former Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (1998-2006),

Hoexter

Kazuhiko TogoAmbassador; Visiting Research Staff

Member; Lecturer, East Asian Studies Department, Princeton University; former Head, Eurasian Department, Japanese

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Juergen Turek Managing Director, Center for Applied

Policy Research, Ludwig Maximilians

University, Munich

Werner Weidenfeld Professor; Member of the Executive Board,

Bertelsmann Stiftung, Guetersloh; Director, Center for Applied Policy Research, Ludwig

Maximilians University, Munich

Stefani Weiss Project Manager, Bertelsmann Stiftung,

Guetersloh

Michael Zuern Professor; Dean, Hertie School of

Governance, Berlin